Dr. Abhas K Mitra is an Indian Astrophysicist and was the Head of Theoretical Astrophysics at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), one of the largest R&D organizations of Govt. of India. He initiated research in Theoretical Astrophysics in BARC in 1980s by braving innumerable difficulties. He is currently an Adjunct Prof. in Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai.
He has carried out research in highly diversified areas of astrophysics such as Gamma Ray Astronomy, High Energy Astrophysics, General Relativity, Gravitational Collapse and Cosmology. In India, he pioneered theoretical research on the origin of cosmic Gamma Ray Bursts, often described as “Biggest explosions in the cosmos’’ during 1995-2000. Though basically a theorist, he has always been associated with the Observational Gamma Ray Astronomy program too wherefrom he had started his research career.
He is the first physicist to show that “Black Holes’’, a crucial concept in Astrophysics & Physics for 100 years, cannot be true black holes. His highest research findings involves disapproving the concept of Black Hole Paradox, which is bolstered by NASA’s finding of some burst coming from very close to the Black hole. He has also extensively researched on Cosmology. The 2011 Nobel Prize in physics involved the concept of a mysterious cosmic repulsive force called “Dark Energy’’. In 4 research papers, he has shown that, the most likely candidate for Dark Energy, namely, the Cosmological Constant of Einstein, is exactly zero.


  • He is a Distinguished Alumnus of Mumbai University
  • One of the frequently mentioned “Indian Physicists’’ on the web
  • One of the Top 10 most talked about Indian men of 2015.
  • In 2006, Harvard Smithsonian Center For Astrophysics Press Release “New Picture of Quasar Emerges” admitted that the concept that the so-called “Black Holes” are actually ultra-compact, ultra-magnetized hot balls of plasma/fire, is originally due to “Abhas Mitra” (a rare event in Indian science).
  • 1st prize in Young Physicist Colloquium organized by Indian Physical Society in 1989.
  • Life Member of International Astronomical Union (IAU).